Bar Italia ~ Winnipeg

Standard

Poor service, mediocre food…3 different clientele…Morning~ people getting their joe on, Afternoon~ a hodge-podge of all ages, eating and drinking, Evening~ a younger crowd ready to party.

There was a long wait for service, but it looked like there might have only been one waitress out on the patio. When I asked for a glass of Pinot Gregio she said they only had 1 kind of wine! She didn’t know the name of it! Ok? So I had a vodka and club soda.

There was a new menu. I was scanning it for their namesake salad “Bar I Salad.”  It’s a juicy cornucopia of pickled eggplant, lettuce, roasted peppers, cherry tomatoes, red onion, and cheese grated on top. Well, too bad for me, it’s not on the new menu and the waitress said they would not make it for me. New chef? I don’t know.

So I ordered chicken nuggets with Caesar salad. Predictable, I know, but not bad…not great either. The chicken was a little over-fried and I suspect they were bought frozen.

I can recommend the mini latte coffee…most delicious with a little sprinkling of chocolate on top. Overall, a disappointing showing for Bar I.  Mark: C minus

Bar Italia on Urbanspoon

joeyluvslulu Winnipeg restaurants

Leave a Reply

